lisarachnid:

For sure, I felt uncomfortable with them trying to touch my body – and all that that says about being a woman in public space. But more than that, it clued me in to many adults’ idea that they don’t need children’s permission to touch them – or to require that they touch someone else.

Today, my daughters are twelve and ten, and I still feel the need to protect them physically – and to advocate for their right to govern their own bodies.

But I have to do more than advocate for them.

In a world that constantly sends messages to women about connecting their value with their physicality and desirability, I need to help them operate with an awareness of their right to reject or accept physical touch, or any act that affects their personal space or feeling of safety, from any adult or child.

And that means I have to be honest about the ways that I, myself, might infringe on their personal boundaries, and I have to facilitate these conversations with the adults around me.

3 Mistakes Parents Make When Teaching Consent and Bodily Autonomy – And How to Fix Them

About tooimpurenangel

Big reader
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

